Royal News

Queen Elizabeth II: Where in the world is the Queen still Head of State?

The Commonwealth is a voluntary association of 54 independent countries, and the association began during the reign of King George VI. Almost all of the countries in the Commonwealth were formerly under British rule. But most Commonwealth countries are now republics that have opted to stay part of the association.

To this day, some countries which are part of the Commonwealth have retained Queen Elizabeth II as their Head of State.

Barbados declared its independence more than half a century ago, but the Queen has remained the nation’s Head of State.

However this week Barbados announced it plans to remove the Queen from this position.

Governor-General Dame Sandra Mason, who is the Queen’s official representative in Barbados, said in her speech delivered on Tuesday: “Since independence, we Barbadians have sought constantly to improve our systems of law and governance so as to ensure they best reflect our characteristics and values as a nation.

“Barbados’s first Prime Minister, The Rt Excellent Errol Walton Barrow, cautioned against loitering on colonial premises.

“That warning is as relevant today as it was in 1966.”

When asked to comment on Barbados’ plans, a Buckingham Palace spokesman said: “This is a matter for the government and people of Barbados.”

Dame Sandra also announced during the speech Barbados plans to enact the changes before November 30, 2021.

She added: “This is the ultimate statement of confidence in who we are and what we are capable of achieving.

“Hence, Barbados will take the next logical step toward full sovereignty and become a Republic by the time we celebrate our 55th Anniversary of Independence.”

Royal family sending message by using ‘classic pictures’ of Harry [PICTURES]
Commonwealth countries mapped: Which realms want to drop the Queen? [MAP]
Queen news: Barbados independence to spark ripple effect [ANALYSIS]

Where in the world is the Queen still Head of State?

The Queen is the constitutional monarch of 16 realms, including the UK.

These realms are part of the Commonwealth, and the Queen acts as Head of State.

As of September 2020, the nations where the Queen is Head of State are:

Antigua and BarbudaAustraliaThe BahamasBarbadosBelizeCanadaGrenadaJamaicaNew ZealandPapau New GuineaSaint Kitts and NevisSaint LuciaSaint Vincent and the GrenadinesSolomon IslandsTuvaluUnited Kingdom

The Royal Family website explains the nature of the Queen’s role as a constitutional monarch: “In a monarchy, a king or queen is Head of State.

“The British Monarchy is known as a constitutional monarchy.

“This means that, while The Sovereign is Head of State, the ability to make and pass legislation resides with an elected Parliament.

“Although The Sovereign no longer has a political or executive role, he or she continues to play an important part in the life of the nation.”


To Top